If you have recently updated your Facebook settings in Shoelace, you may now be seeing a warning message in your Shoelace Dashboard that looks something like this:

and you may find you are unable to make edits or updates to your current ads (including budget and targeting changes):


🤷 Why am I seeing these messages on my account?

These messages occur anytime a change is made to your account's Facebook settings:

This includes:

  • changing your Facebook Account
          The account that authorizes our app to make ads on Facebook for the store. This is most commonly changed if the person that initially authorized our              app is no longer associated with the business. 
  • changing your Business Manager
         The Business Manager houses all related Facebook assets and ad accounts for your store. Generally your ad account and pixel will be changed WITH the business manager.
  • changing your Ad Account
         The Ad Account is where all ads from Shoelace will be created, and where results are pulled from. 
  • changing your Pixel
         The Pixel is what Shoelace uses to collect data on your store's visitors and the result of ads.  A pixel MUST be connected to the chosen Facebook Ad Account in order for Shoelace to use it.
  • changing your Business Page
        The Business Page is where all ads (aside from instagram ads) come from.  It is a requirement from Facebook to advertise on their platform.  For clients with multiple Business Pages, we recommend choosing the page that best represents your brand as a whole.

‼️ There are many assets that are tied to the above settings (including the ads themselves!) and when they are changed, it can take some time to get the right connections and create new assets to ensure a smooth transition 👍

During that transition period, editing of ads is temporarily paused as the new assets are not yet generated.


⚙What Happens During "Facebook Account Updating"?

This will depend on which settings were changed:

  • changing your Facebook Account ONLY
     - A member of the team will ensure we have the correct level of access to your selected business manager, ad account, pixel and business page. You will be contacted if we come across any issues!   Any implemented Shoelace ads (tied to the previous account's access) may be paused and then resumed once the connection is complete.
  • changing your Business Manager
     - Any implemented Shoelace ads (tied to the previous business manager) will be paused.  
    ⚠️Please note if Shoelace access has been removed from the previous business manager, we will be unable to pause ads.
    - New audiences, custom conversions, and product catalogs will be created for your account.  
    - Previously implemented ads will be re-created and resumed.

  • changing your Ad Account
     - Any implemented Shoelace ads (tied to the previous ad account) will be paused.  
    ⚠️Please note if Shoelace access has been removed from the previous ad account, we will be unable to pause ads.
    - New audiences, custom conversions, and product catalogs will be created for your account.
    - Previous results data will be reset as we are pulling data from new ads in a new account.
     - Previously implemented ads will be re-created and resumed.

  • changing your Pixel
     - Any implemented Shoelace ads (tied to the previous pixel) will be paused.  ⚠️Please note if Shoelace access has been removed from the previous ad account, business manager, or pixel, we will be unable to pause ads.
    - New audiences, custom conversions, and product catalogs will be created for your account.  
    - Previously implemented ads will be connected to re-created* and resumed.  
    - Previous results data will be reset as we are pulling data from a new pixel.
    * Occasionally it may be possible to switch the pixel on previous ads instead of needing to recreate them and we will make every effort to do this where possible.

  • changing your Business Page
     - Any implemented Shoelace ads (tied to the previous Page) will be paused.  
    ⚠️Please note if Shoelace access has been removed from the previous ad account, business manager, or pixel, or page we will be unable to pause ads.
    - Previous results data may be reset
    - Previously implemented ads will be connected to re-created* and resumed.  
    * Occasionally it may be possible to switch the Business Page on previous ads instead of needing to recreate them, and we will make every effort to do this where possible.


⏳ How Long Does "Facebook Account Updating" Take?

Generally the process is quick and you can expect editing access back within 1-2 business days 🎉🎉🎉.  The messages will be removed once the process is completed!

A member of the team will be in contact if we come across any issues with updating your account.



🏁 What Can I Expect After "Facebook Account Updating" is Completed?

We will make every effort to ensure the transition is smooth and that your Shoelace account resumes as it did prior to the change 😄.  Aside from a results re-set, your account should appear practically unchanged!

Please note: Adjusting Facebook Settings results in needing to recreate ads or collect new sources of data from site visitors.  These are considered major updates and will re-set Facebook's learning algorithms 👨‍🎓️ for your ads.  As a result, you may experience a temporary dip in ad-spend usage and performance.   



Did this answer your question?